I’d have to see one of the icons, the, and I have approximately 23k people blocked so I’m unlikely to see one.
However, there is a “terf pride flag” nowadays, because this is how we live I guess.
So it might be that. It’s black and dark pink, and in keeping with terfs being uninspired, derivative sacks of shit, it’s otherwise nondescript.
I’m at least 50% sure that they made it just to imitate the new (non lipstick) lesbian flag and confuse people.
But anyway, if you’d like to send me a picture or a link to one of these icons, maybe I can be more help.
@xenoqueer I’m not sure if this what anon is talking about but it seems relevant. I took a screenshot because I wanted to fact check what they were saying
it seems weird to mention their icon not being the nonbinary flag when the actual nb flag is different shades of yellow+purple and has a black stripe at the bottom
yeah after about five minutes of research I’ve decided that those claims are totally bullshit. two flags having similar colors is not proof that anything was “stolen”
next, radfems are going to claim that the colors purple, yellow, and white belong only to a certain group, like the exclusionists that they’re so fond of
Dear lord, radfems get up to some nonsense
Apparently, terfs also like to say that the genderqueer flag is an example of trans people stealing women’s culture, as well.
Fuck, shit. I just realized. This is a literal example of radical feminists idealizing ACTUAL LIBERAL FEMINISM (that is to say, pre-1950s fmeinism).
You know, that thing they constantly claim they hate, while actually hating modern 4th wave feminism?
Also looks like the
Women’s Social and Political Union
flag was made with vertical stripes rather than horizontal.
It’s like saying the Netherlands stole France’s flag. Or Luxenburg is just a stolen Netherlands flag with a different shade of blue.
Also I’m all for learning and international women’s history and all that, but to say this historical flag is being stolen is quite the stretch.
It is not a universal symbol of women or even suffragettes internationally. Hell, it isn’t even a symbol of universal suffrage considering how racist the movement was. Further, when the WSPU dissolved they were reformed as The Women’s Party, which has the purple white and yellow colours.
However, I would guess that the resurgence in the use of these somewhat outdated flags is mostly to dig as genderqueer and nonbinary folks. If they take these flags and “reclaim” them as universal symbols of womanhood, which they were not, then they can say we stole it from women in general.
Even though I did not see the WSPU or TWP colours prominently before they started attacking GQ and NB folks.
But again. The flags aren’t stolen and besides most flags have similarities to other flags somewhere in the world, even countries have almost the same design sometimes.
Like… come on now.
I think, in some ways, this is kind of an end result of that persistent narrative TERFs push that there can only every be One. “Poly” can only ever mean “polynesian” and all the polyamorous and polysexual people who have been using the term for generations are just thieves. “NB” can only ever mean “non-black,” and all the nonbinary people using it are thieves. “Queer” can only ever mean “weirdo” and all the queer peopel who have been using it for generations are trying to destroy the world for all the good and pure gold star cis lesbians.
Given that extreme focus on things only ever having a single meaning, specifically so that marginalized peoples can be treated as criminals for having any fucking culture, I’m nor really surprised to see this happening.
Just disappointed.
Minor note: the term “polyamorous” was first used in 1990 (in Morning Glory Zell’s article “A Bouquet of Lovers”), so it’s a bit of a stretch to call it “generations.”
But words can definitely have different meanings in different communities, and I’d expect to say Poly, with a capital P, if I were using it to refer to Polynesian people, just like I’ve seen Aussie used for Australians.
Queer Nation has been around as long as the term “polyamory,” and the organization wouldn’t have that name if “queer” didn’t have a long history of being used by, well, the queer communities.
…By their logic, we should only use “gay” to mean “happy and cheerful.”
I never expected to have to say, “We’re here; we’re queer; GET USED TO IT!” to people who don’t identify as straight, but, sigh, here we are.
Polyamorous was in common use by 1972. Even if it really had been coined in 1990, adults in 1990 are from the generation previous to adults now, who are ourselves the generation previous to children now, all of whom use the term.
But it’s actually at least 5 generations, rather than 3.
But yeah, things can mean more than one thing. Context is everything.
Not that Radfems believe in contextualization, either. But, you know. For the rest of us. Context is key.
Yeah, I’ve always been baffled by the “say polyam” thing. I mean, if the claim is “I can’t google my own heritage without stuff about other people’s relationship structure popping up” I get why THAT is a problem and a kludgy solution is needed
but the claim i’ve seen just seems to be “use another word because we told you to”
and my brain just stubbornly protests that *that isn’t how language works*
Wait, where do people use ‘Poly’ to refer to Polynesian people? I (living on a pacific island) have never heard that? Everyone uses ‘Nesian instead.
…yeah I do’t think I’ve ever heard you say “Poly” in reference to Polynesian people in… what, 15 years ish that we’ve known each other?
Also the “I can’t google my own heritage without stuff about relationship structures popping up” thing would be… extraordinarily easy to solve by simply googling “polynesian” instead of “poly” – if multiple terms use a common abbreviation that has to be determined by context, the obvious google-fu solution is to type out the whole word when looking specifically for one of those things.
Like, if I want to google Cognitive Behavioral Therapy I’m not just gonna put “CBT” and then get mad when I get results about the Connecticut Bureau of Transportation (among other less tumblr-safe things). If I’m looking for the Bureau of Land Management, I’m not gonna get mad if a search for “BLM” turns up stuff about Black Lives Matter. I’m just gonna refine my search parameters by either typing out the whole thing or adding a qualifier like “CBT therapy” (which would be redundant as a phrase to use in conversation, but is gonna filter those results real nicely as a search string).
Partridge berry (Mitchella repens) is a creeping, evergreen vine whose delicate, trailing stems repeatedly branch and take root in the rich humus to form a beautiful, deep-green carpet of leaves between fallen logs and snaking tree roots and along sandy stream banks. A lover of full to part shade and dry to moist, acidic soil, this earth-hugging perennial produces opposing pairs of small, rounded leaves along the lengths of its slender, somewhat woody stems; the foliage retains a rich, deep green appearance through the worst of the winter season, making it a go-to ground cover for native plant gardeners. In late spring to early summer, the vines erupt in pairs of radiant white, trumpet-shaped flowers, which despite their tiny sizes collectively form one of the loveliest wildflower shows of the Appalachian forest. Bright red berries follow the flowers in the fall and provide a valuable food source for birds throughout the winter. The berries, which persist through the following spring, are edible but with no distinctive flavor. Native American women ate the berries and made an extract from the leaves to prevent miscarriage and premature birth, which resulted in the plant’s other common – and nowadays derogatory – name, squaw vine.
For those familiar with Tampermonkey/Greasemonkey, this is a known process. If not, follow these steps:
1. Install the tampermonkey browser extension via the official site. 2. Click the toolbar button, press Dashboard. 3. From the Dashboard, press the plus sign in the horizontal toolbar. 4. Replace all text in the editor with the code of the script, available here: https://gist.githubusercontent.com/boisei0/2ea7d7145d04a1cc5864d316271d09fd/raw/tumblr_flagging_score_checker.js 5. Click File -> Save. The script should now enable itself. 6. Close the tab with the editor. 7. Open a new tab with the Tumblr dashboard: https://www.tumblr.com/dashboard and wait until the script is fully loaded and the black-with-white box is displayed. 8. Follow the instructions on the screen.
Since this script will now run every time you open the tumblr dashboard, disable it again after usage: With the dashboard open, click the toolbar button for Tampermonkey. Now click the switch to disable the “tumblr score checker 2.0” again. In case of problems, click the tampermonkey button, and ask if there are updates.
Common problems and how to ask for help
Q: You keep getting an error message saying you are rate limited. A: Click the tampermonkey button, click Dashboard, and click the flagging script in the list. Around line 16 you find the following: const debug = false; const debugFlag = -1; Replace false with true, and replace -1 with 3. Save the script, and reload the tumblr dashboard. If you’re on Mac with Chrome, do command+option+J, Windows with Chrome ctrl+shift+J, Mac with Firefox command+shift+J, Windows with Firefox ctrl+shift+J. (Rest I don’t know from mind, look up “developer console YourBrowser” on google to get the shortcut). If you run XKit you’re going to see a lot of spam first, scroll down to the end and take a screnshot of the last couple lines you see. It should be 2 numbers. The first is the total amount of posts, the second the number of requests needed to look at every post listed. Check if the number of posts is indeed correct, and take a screenshot of the output. Send it to me in DM, and I’ll look along with you for a way to fix this.
Q: Your blogs are not getting listed, or twice. A: Refresh the page and try again. If it persists, look at the previous question and change the -1 to 1 instead. Follow the rest of the steps and send me a screenshot in DM. I’ve seen this before, but it appears to only randomly happen and I haven’t managed to solve this yet.
Should I use this?
As for those wondering about “what am I going to run on my tumblr, is it even save?”, if you would like to feel free to check the code, but what it does is get the so called “form key” from the page (tumblr uses it internally to communicate between pages, e.g. xkit uses it too). Next, this form key is used in combination with the part of the server that loads blogs in the sidebar view. The loading code returned by the server has information about whether or not posts are flagged, and a lot of extra information.
Also feel free to spread this script around 🙂
Some screenshots for additional guidance are placed below
I installed this script via Tampermonkey – it works, and boy howdy you can see all the bizarre, totally inoffensive stuff (even by Tumblr’s explicit standards) Tumblr’s bots are singling out from your blog.
there’s something about it that’s just disturbingly real.
like i can come here and spout whatever nonsense i want, and ya’ll will tolerate it.
twitter is like an alien world where i don’t know what’s gonna happen, if fucking ted cruz is gonna respond to me or what.
it’s nerve wracking, it’s too mainstream.
i prefer this bullcrap where no one knows anyone or what’s going on at any given time.
But do u remember that time when a writer came at you here?
that’s true, but unlike twitter, i was only tumblr shamed.
and tumblr shaming doesn’t work on me because tumblr shaming is like if a group of furries came with signs to shame a filthy otaku.
on twitter, it’s like JK Rowling is gonna slap me with some half assed white corporate feminism and have her drones of cult followers come to shit on me for speaking.
or like blake shelton is gonna @ me for making fun of his music, and all of his fans are gonna light the fire under my feet.
it’s way different, being controversial on a mainstream media site.
tumblr’s a cesspit of stupidity, but it’s an obscure and strange cesspit of stupidity.
twitter’s a little too real.
trump and obama can have a rap battle on twitter and make it a part of us history.
tumblr isn’t the same way.
we all die in obscurity on tumblr, and i prefer it.
twitter feels like im in full sight of the snipers and i cant even duck behind a clown car to avoid them
On tumblr you’re in the clown car, hurtling towards a cliff at mach 3 with a few dozen others in the same car.
See, it’s metaphors like these that you can only get on Tumblr, that perfectly describe what it’s like being on Tumblr.
Every actual Pacific Islanders activism group I’ve been able to find has advocated for the use of “pacific islands” as an umbrella, and using the actual names of the peoples in question (eg: maori, samoan, hawai’ian maoli, etc) whenever possible. Specifically because “polynesian” is colonialism in action. It’s an attempt to smash dozens of unique cultures into a single uniform label, erasing their histories in the process.
At least “pacific islanders” while potentially doing the same thing, has the decency to be plural.
But, hey, why take that into consideration when you can just listen to one singular tumblr post I guess /sarcasm
Tumblr is self-destructing and the entire conservative government just got found to be in contempt of parliament for the first time in HISTORY this is the greatest 24h of my life
What did I miss?!
Oh man. This is absolutely golden.
So first off. What’s contempt of parliament? In short, obstructing parliament from its duties. In the UK that extends to publication of reports and papers that would be necessary for parliament to, well, parliament. Normally this extends to an individual person being especially obstructive.
Now. The Conservative government obtained legal advice for the Brexit shitshow. But they refused to publish it in full which means parliament (which includes, y’know, opposition parties and non-conservatives in general) can’t parliament.
What reason could they possibly have to refuse to publish legal advice on something that effects the whole country? I wonder. Hmm. Thinking emoji.
Anyway. Today the entire Conservative government have been found to be in contempt of Parliament. The entire government have been found to be obstructing the proper running of the country. We hold votes on that sort of thing, and the general consensus (18-vote majority) was “the Tories are obstructive little pigshits”
Also they have to publish that legal advice. In full. Tomorrow.
No word yet on whether the entire government is going to be sent to the Elizabeth Tower yet. We haven’t done that since the 1880s but I’m willing to bring it back.
Glorious!
Readers from other countries: you have to understand that, so far, Brexit has been about three years of nothing happening and still somehow dominating the news cycle. A random MP from Croydon will say that they don’t think Theresa May is doing well and it’ll make headline news. Like, that’s not news, that’s rolling above a nat 1 on perception. The ‘nothing happens’ is occasionally broken by Something happening, except it’s always terrible. At this stage, people keep arguing about whether to accept a shitty deal or no deal, because nobody took Critical Thinking at AS Level and the concept of a false dilemma is somehow unthinkable to them.
Meanwhile a good portion of the Labour party really do not want Brexit to happen, except the leader (Jeremy Corbyn, and I would require a whole other post to talk about him) who is like ‘Brexit is okay but ONLY if we do it.’
Meanwhile the Liberal Democrats are like ‘we’ll cancel Brexit! And we’ll legalise weed!’, but nobody’s forgiven them for double-crossing us on tuition fees and they keep accidentally electing bigots, so the twelve voters who support them can’t really do all that much.
The Green party do technically exist, and that’s all I can really say on them.
UKIP, the nationalist bastards who got us into this mess in the first place, haemorrhaged membership back to the Tories in the most recent election (shocking. i know). General cretin Nigel Farage quit as party leader when Brexit got voted for, claiming he’d done his job, and recently he just left the party altogether because he doesn’t like where it’s going. something something moral backbone of a chocolate eclair something
Also the Leave campaign were found to have lied, accepted dodgy donations and pulled some VERY shifty things, meaning that a lot of people who voted for Brexit now feel they made a mistake.
So the people have been trying to demand a second vote on Brexit, or to at least have some say on the conditions of the leave agreement (did I mention everything we’ve done so far is fully reversible?), but TMay just keeps repeating things like ‘will of the people’ and ‘Brexit means Brexit’ and then going home to relax by killing a few disabled people after dinner. You know how it is.
But then the actual Brexit agreement is released and ministers start dropping like flies. The guy who wrote it quits IMMEDIATELY after it’s published because he Doesn’t Like It. Cue the tiniest violin in the world. People are squabbling over the right way to do Brexit and keep mentioning just leaving without a deal, which is like quitting your cushy job by taking a shit on the counter and just hoping things will work out for you.
So, essentially, I’ve given up hope on this not becoming a complete clusterfuck. It already is a clusterfuck. My only hope is that it will be an entertaining one, as it’s been so astonishingly dull, and this has very much met my hopes. They fucked up so badly that the whole government is on the naughty step. The fucktangular omnishambles continue, and I for one say throw them all in the tower, vote them out of government one-by-one like Big Brother, and televise it to make money for the BBC.
Yesssssss
So… from the little I know about parliamentary systems of government…
Does “contempt of parliament” also mean “vote of no confidence”? Are y’all about to have another election?
As far as I understand it, contempt of parliament is like, ‘stop that right now! Stop it!We can’t govern unless you stop.’ and it can apply to one MP or a parliamentary group or in this case, a whole party.
Vote of no confidence is, ‘you’re all fucking incompetent, I have no confidence that you can run a foot race, let alone a government’.
If a vote of no confidence is successful then a general election has to be held, but people won’t vote against their party so it’s super rare.
But if they can’t govern, that would mean they’re fucking incompetent, and therefore a new election should be held? That’s what I’m trying to figure out. Does this mean a vote of no confidence is going to be held, and then another election? (Because at least in Canada there are certain things that automatically trigger a vote of no confidence, like not being able to pass a budget. I was wondering if this is one of those things as well.) Or can you folks not recall the bastards who did this bullshit? (That’s one of the things I always liked about the parliamentary system… if the gov’t can’t run, y’all have an election, like pronto. Wish our system was like that.)
Latkes. I am talking about latkes, but I didn’t want to pass up such a mad good chance for some killer alliteration. You understand.
Yesterday some people expressed a wish to have my latke recipe, and being the obliging and benevolent soul that I am, I acquiesced. Am acquiescing. Whatever. Here it is!
6 large potatoes
2 large onions
1 ½ tablespoons of flour
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of salt
¼ teaspoon of pepper
½ teaspoon of baking powder
This is a flexible recipe. Last night I double-and-a-halfed it to 15 potatoes and about 4 and a half onions, because I fucking love onions. I like an oniony latke. To me this is the secret to latke deliciousness. However, the quantity of onion you like in your latke is up to you. The salt and pepper is also to taste, I think we ended up putting a bit more of each into ours last night as well.
STEPS:
Wash and peel the potatoes. This step sucks, sorry.
You’re going to want to grate them. You can do this by hand if you do not possess a food processor but boy howdy do I ever not recommend it. If you DO use a food processor, I extremely extremely recommend getting a grater blade to use instead of the regular one, as the regular one will just pulp the potatoes and that will fuck up the ESSENTIAL LATKE TEXTURE. However, if you cannot grate them by hand and do not have access to a grater blade for your food processor it’s not TERRIBLE to just use the regular blade. No one will come to your house and harm you or anything.
Press the extra liquid out of the potatoes!!!!! If your batter is too liquidy your latkes will not hold together well. This step ALSO sucks, sorry. If you have an overenthusiastic 16 year old stepbrother to boss around I highly recommend getting him to do it. My other ~trick of the trade~ regarding “"Hanukkah water”“, as Ari calls it, is to use a SLOTTED SPOON to dollop the batter into the oil, as you can then drain the extra liquid out of each spoonful just beforehand.
The onions you can pulp up, who cares about the onions. (You’re gonna wanna food process these pretty hard imo but if you cannot, again, grating them by hand is ok!!!)
Put potato gratings, onion pulp, flour, eggs, salt, pepper, and baking powder in a big ol’ bowl and mix that shit all up.
Get deep pans and heat them over the stove, or use an electric skillet, either way. Fill about ¼th of an inch with vegetable oil (BEFORE YOU HEAT THEM UP JUST TO BE OVERLY CLEAR. DO NOT PUT THE OIL IN AFTER THEY ARE HOT. LOOK. I REALIZE THIS IS OBVIOUS BUT IT PAYS TO MAKE SURE) (Heating the pans is an imprecise science as every burner/skillet is different, but I usually do pretty high. On our old electric skillet we used the next-to-highest setting, and on our electric stovetop last night I had them on 6 (on a scale from 1-9).
When the oil is hot, dollop spoonfuls of batter into it (roughly ¼th of a cup, but I just eyeball it). If you are using a regularish sized pan you should be able to fit 2 or 3 latkes in it at a time.
The trick I use for telling if a latke is ready to flip is twofold. One, look at the edges. They should be golden brown before you even consider it. Two, nudge the latke gently with your spatula. If it kind of “floats” across the bottom of the pan without any resistance, it’s safe to lift the edge and check if the bottom is brown.
Flip yer dang latkes!!!!!!!!
NOTE: See all those floating brown crunchy bits? Remove them from the oil with a spoon or spatula before they burn and flavor the oil with burning. Put them on a paper towel to cool and then EAT THEM THEY’RE DELICIOUS AND YOU HAVE RIGHTFULLY EARNED THEM AS THE LATKE COOK
Once they’re brown on both sides, take ‘em out of the oil!!! The ideal way to serve latkes is as they come out, which unfortunately means that you, the cook, will be standing around in an unfortunate apron avoiding splatters of scalding oil while everyone else enjoys themselves, but there are some sacrifices you have to make. If you are unable or unwilling to do this, it is OK to put the latkes in the oven to stay warm until everyone’s ready to eat, although they will be SLIGHTLY less crispy if you do this. Layer them on a big metal oven tray with paper towel in between each layer and set the oven to 250 F or so.
NOTES: This recipe probably serves about 3 or 4 people, I’d say? For reference, last night I more than doubled the recipe and we had 5 people and a ton of leftover latkes, with everyone eating probably between 3 and 5 latkes each. Regarding leftovers: This morning I put 4 of ‘em in our toaster oven on a sheet of tin foil and toasted them on the highest setting and then ate them and they were delicious. Slightly soggy, but delicious. You can also do this in the oven or even re-fry them if you’re feeling ambitious. I have never tried the microwave and it sounds vaguely sacrilegious to me but considering that I like my latkes with ketchup on them I am not in an overly great position to remark on that.
SPEAKING OF TOPPINGS! Applesauce and sour cream obviously are the staples but hey, look. Listen. Ketchup is REALLY good, alright, look, just try it, the Jew Police are not going to kick your door in if you do, I promise. Another note regarding toppings: If you use the quantity of onions that I am advocating, putting powdered sugar on these particular pancakes will probably not be that rewarding, but 1. you are free to try and 2. SOME SACRIFICES MUST BE MADE IN THE NAME OF ONION.
Last note for those of you who have never latke’d before. Your entire house/condo/tiny studio apartment/regular apartment/bullet trailer/mansion WILL smell of latke so strongly you cannot even believe it. It will smell this way for days. YOU, also, and everything you own and love, will smell of latke. You will come home from work or school or whatever the next day, after a long day of having the Jews you know sidle up to you and take a big whiff of your hair or coat and knowingly announce what you had for dinner last night, and be BOWLED OVER by how much your home smells of latke. This 1. will dissipate in a couple of days and 2. is part of the experience. ENJOY!!!!!!!
You must be logged in to post a comment.