Disabled Homeless People – Good4you – a charity for disabled homeless people

clatterbane:

This dissertation seeks to show that charities for homeless people have a duty to address disability, and that these charities fail to do so even though more than half of homeless people are disabled people.

The duty to address compliance with disability legislation is examined briefly, and the logical implication that disability among the beneficiaries of a charity must first be recognised is stated.

Two surveys were done to illustrate that more than half of homeless people are disabled people. In contrast, 16% of Britain’s population are disabled people, with a spending power of £80 billion per annum.

A computer search of disability, poverty and homelessness literature was done to find direct links between disability and homelessness. No such links could be found, illustrating that disability and homelessness are not conceptually linked in theory or common practice.

The causes of homelessness were examined, and the question raised whether many of these ‘causes’ of homelessness are directly linked to disability. Might disability poverty cause someone to be unable to meet rent payments, so that “rent not paid” is not the actual cause of homelessness. The causes of homelessness were examined in the light of the post hoc ergo propter hoc fallacy.

In conclusion I recommend that disability and Homelessness charities seriously examine the links between disability and homelessness, and that University graduates in Disability Studies are appointed to the board as Disability Officers, where they should hold no other portfolio.

I recommend that the leaders in charity governance alter governance methods and objectives in such a way that an awareness of disability and homelessness will filter through to grassroots levels, and permeate our society, as happened in the case of blind people, who are no longer homeless people. If this happens people with unseen disabilities will also cease to be homeless.

Download the complete 55 page PDF report:

Governance and Disabled People who are Homeless (PDF)

I also remembered running across this site several years ago, and managed to track it down again. The author (who also got this foundation going) became homeless for disability-related reasons, and was only able to get off the street after managing to access some services. Funny how that works.

And until I ran across some of his commentary, I hadn’t been aware of some of the bass-ackward discourse around these issues which is apparently too common in the UK. I was more familiar with the US versions going on about the failures of deinstitutionalization causing people to end up on the street, which are often disturbing enough in some other ways.

Never had I run across an approach based on the idea that existing systems are just so great that surely nobody could end up homeless because of disability! Being homeless just coincidentally causes a lot of health problems. (Which is probably also true, but yeah. That’s really unlikely to help the condition of somebody who is already disabled.)

That would indeed be in a political context where “one-third of Autistic adults in the UK have neither employment nor access to benefits” (*raises hand*), and “[r]ates of autism among the homeless population are 3000% to 6000% higher than in the general population”. As just one example. (Another cause of autism: homelessness! 😐 )

It’s kind of a mess, all around–and of course not just here. With the current austerity climate, trying to help get homeless people who need it access to disability services would have to be an even harder proposition, down to things as simple as disabled travelcards. But, glad somebody saw the need.

Ran across this while looking for something else, and it’s unfortunately more relevant all the time.

Disabled Homeless People – Good4you – a charity for disabled homeless people

Reminded again of one story from our drama teacher in high school, which I thought was pretty funny then and appreciate in some different ways now.

She grew up in Baltimore, and got a rather startling introduction to some cultural differences not that long after moving to a small town in Southwest Virginia to take a teaching job.

One day, she looked out and saw some guy just casually walking down the street, carrying a shotgun. And…nobody else seemed to notice or care? There was certainly no screaming or sirens. It was very weird.

At least she did take a cue from the total lack of alarm from some neighbors who were out in their yard, and didn’t call the cops herself. But, you couldn’t have paid her to go out there for a while, just in case.

Definitely not in Baltimore anymore!

Yeah, my automatic assumption in that case would be that he was probably taking it to show a friend, or something like that. Barely worth noticing unless the person is acting squirrelly. Just not something I would have been that surprised to see.

But yeah, very different experiences and expectations in Hillbillyland compared to most urban areas and some other parts of the country.

Not too surprisingly, I’ve ended up disconcerted in the other direction on multiple occasions since moving to Greater London.

Including when my uncle and his family came for a visit when I’d been here a couple of years.

While they were doing touristy stuff, they went to the London Eye. And everyone involved got a bit of a surprise when they went through security to get in, and my baby cousin (probably 15 at that point) pulled out a totally standard pocket knife to leave there if they insisted.

I think that may have even been the same model (with under a 4" blade). Like I said, a very standard type of pocket knife back home. I was mostly surprised he was the only one of the family carrying one that day, because they’re handy tools and that’s just kinda what you do, but yeah. (And honestly I still usually do, aware that someone might eventually turn it into an issue. ETA: Though that’s less likely to happen, not being a young man.)

The security guy just couldn’t believe that (a) a kid had this Big Scary Knife at all, and (b) his crazy American family didn’t seem at all concerned about it. In the end, they didn’t totally confiscate the knife, but he did get some stern warnings to leave it wherever they were staying from now on. Which I think he actually did, because jfc.

They were amused afterwards, to say the least. I wasn’t along that day, but I can imagine.

Some pretty different norms, to say the least.

geekandmisandry:

bogleech:

ikea-the-metalsmith:

the-last-hair-bender:

thedevilsofficialblog:

island-delver-go:

oppa-homeless-style:

actuallyjuststealingmemes:

water-based-introspection:

just-shower-thoughts:

It was kind of a dick move to create animals that require air, then confine them to the freaking ocean

If you are talking about dolphins they used to be wolf like creatures that due to scarcity of food they had to hunt in water so they slowly evolved into water mammals, dolphins still have claw bones but they are unnecessary and dolphins will get rid of them with time and will develop abilities to breath under water

(This also partially applies to whales)

They were what now?

Mother Nature, come out here I just want to talk

Whales are actually Ungulates, more so hippos, entelodons, etc…

Meaning they were somewhat related to big celebrities such as Daedon (the “hell pig”) and Andrewsarchus.

The appearence of the first ancestors of whales probably looked like a small hoofed thing called Indohyus.

image
image

(Illustration by julio lacerda)

image

(illustration by Tiffany Turill)

Basically they went from tiny hoofed herbivore to bigger hoofed carnivore to crocodile-like thing to seal-like things to big sea predators.

It’s important to mention that we now know dolphins will probably never need to develop true water breathing, because the fact that they breathe air from the surface is actually an ADVANTAGE for them. They get more oxygen at once than an animal with gills and it permits a much higher, more energized activity level for longer periods of time.

They are murderous monsters empowered by their access to the forbidden air

Ok, science is cancelled.

lynati:

jenniferrpovey:

scalesandredroses:

jenniferrpovey:

catchinghammers:

jenniferrpovey:

concerningwolves:

Also “no adult content” sounds good in theory until you actually think about it and then,, like, you realise it poses a huge threat to the blogs on here that

A) provide better sex ed than most school systems around the world

B) general open, healthy dialogue re: BDSM and safe practise

C) particularly for groups who are desexualised or made to guilty for having desires like disabled, trans or autistic people

D) the blogs that make artwork as a form of protest, usually involving nudity as expression

and tbh I could go on but I’m tired and my soul has just had another 100 years added to it

In theory, the crackdown shouldn’t affect any of those things. In practice, dinosaurs and puppies…

Or, heaven forbid, drawings of puppies

Sorry, @dailydogdoodles

I didn’t see the screenshot of the puppies somebody mentioned, so don’t know if they were real puppies or drawn.

Either way, there IS no better AI tumblr can use. This is literally the state of research on AI flagging of porn.

That’s why we need to contest falsely flagged posts. Contested posts will be looked at with real human eyes that can clearly tell the difference between an illustrated puppy and human pornography.

Tumblr isn’t going to stop using flag bots because it’s cost-prohibitive to have human beings look at every single visual post, but the only way the bots can improve is if they are able to feed it better curated learning sets.

It’s not fair and it’s causing a gross amount of panic among people who don’t deserve this backlash, but it’s what’s happening and if we ever want to see a day where consensual visual adult content is allowed again without also enabling pedophiles to disseminate child pornography, the only hope is to help them improve their moderation algorithms.

Except we won’t. They won’t backpedal from this one. I’m not disagreeing that we shouldn’t contest every single falsely flagged post. But it won’t achieve that result.

Contest EVERY post. If they’re going to put us through this aggravation, turn around and put it back on them.

naamahdarling:

smiththeteacher:

pocheposh:

iwillknockyouup:

jonmarion:

livingmytruthx:

puddingafterbreakfast:

Zoom in on her face in the third gif.
She means this.
You are completely irreplaceable.

This went deep man. Look at her face. I would love to know where this came from, what she was talking about. And it’s true. So true. Completely irreplaceable. You are you and there is no better you

Reblogging because I needed to see this message tonight, and something tells me someone else does too.

Reblogging as I think every one of my followers are special and impossible to replace.

Remember that.

You are all special and important, and Ellen is a gift. 

On my goods days, I’m like: “Thanks, Ellen. You’re such a treasure. Thank-you for supporting positive mental health. I hardly even get a chance to watch your show, but small gestures like this are so important and so reaffirming. Thanks.”

On my bad days,I’m like: “Thanks, Ellen. You’re such a treasure. But you don’t know me, and I am highly-replaceable trash. Thanks, anyway.”

You aren’t trash. Just an irreplaceable person having a bad day.

Yes, Virginia, Tumblr is important for all those other reasons and also…

aprillikesthings:

fierceawakening:

tinkdw:

dimples-of-discontent:

impostoradult:

There is a particular take on the destruction of Tumblr that I keep waiting for someone to write, but no one has yet. Which means I apparently need to do it myself.

The take is, essentially, that not only should adults have access to adult content – in itself, valid and true – but also it is important to cultivate SOME social spaces where the overtly/explicitly sexual overlap with the non-sexual. (Not all spaces; I still think it should be illegal to have sex on the sidewalk. But SOME spaces that enable the sexual and the non-sexual to exist side-by-side)

Part of what I think leads to the dehumanization of sex (and subsequently allows the stigma and shame to cling so heavily to it) is the complete bifurcation of life into SEX and EVERYTHING ELSE and never the twain shall meet. When we – at every turn – put all aspects of human life into one sphere, and sex into another, we dehumanize it. We remove the full subjectivity of people from it, which is a problem. 

I think we need to actively cultivate spaces LIKE before-time!Tumblr where we can be people, and talk about what happened at work today, and the funny thing our dog did, and how our parents make us crazy during the holidays, and how dare they do X thing on Supernatural, and here’s a great version of that distracted boyfriend meme, and ALSO be able to talk about being horny on main, as the saying goes, and find the right porn clip to fap to. Or post nude selfies. Or hunt down that sweet, sweet NSFW Symbrock fanart. 

Having spaces where the explicitly sexual and the non-sexual overlap is important to humanizing sex and, subsequently, de-stigmatizing it (which, it should go without saying, is particularly salient for marginalized people who often suffer way more heavily from sexual stigma) 

This. As someone who is half French half British I’ve forever struggled with the frankly pretty Puritan British attitude towards sex and our bodies and the open French attitude. I know which is healthy and which isn’t from personal experience. People not discussing sex, nudity etc in a safe environment leads to so many issues around lack of education, understanding and future deep emotional and physical issues for young adults trying to figure life out. It can last our entire lives if not addressed.

My friends and I got naked in front of each other as teens to change like it’s no big deal and yeah on occasion we looked and compared bodies, it’s thanks to this that I know that my nipples which I hated for being so huge are actually not that weird. My friends all have completely different body shapes and it made me comfortable in mine knowing it was ok to not look like a model/porn star and be different because we all were.

I’ve learned so much from tumblr just from discussion and I share this with others, it’s embarrassing how little people know about their own bodies due to a lack of a forum to discuss it. This is such a good place for it and I’m so sad it is so niche already let alone if that now collapses.

Due to lack of discussion of sex and just human bodies someone close to me didn’t address the pain he had every time he had an erection until he confided in me as an open friend and it turned out he needed a medical circumcision. He went 10 YEARS with this pain (and not having sex) because he had no one to talk to about it and nowhere to look it up. Fucking ridiculous.

So yes, even for non trans / queer folk it’s so important to have an open forum somewhere regarding these things let alone how hugely important it is for these communities.

While at the same time I’m also angered that sex and nudity is villainised while nazism and it’s ilk is fiiiiiiine.

This . Is . Wrong .

“also it is important to cultivate SOME social spaces where the overtly/explicitly sexual overlap with the non-sexual.”

This.

One of my favorite things about rl kink communities? That we also went to munches (get togethers at restaurants) and just hung out, and sure we’d probably casually mention/joke about being huge perverts at some point because it was safe to do so among people we knew wouldn’t be offended, but the nice thing was just being able to be around people and talk about anything.

God, yeah. I remember being wigged out at first when I got on tumblr and it was just this free-wheeling place where someone would complain about their bad day and their next post would be a reblog of pornographic fan art with graphic comments in the tags. 

You can follow people who make nsfw content (photos, fic, art) and get to know them as people. You can follow people that aren’t content creators and get to know their tastes in kinky shit. You can have friends you met because you liked the same kind of porn and find out all the other stuff you have in common and become real friends. 

I don’t talk about my sex life on fucking facebook (other than in very locked groups, lol). Hell, I’m not sure I’ll do it on twitter unless I start a separate one for that (which….tbh I might; I liked having a sideblog here for me to post nudes and sexual tmi). 

I’m really gonna miss the way that stuff was all mixed together here. 

ratherberaidingkick3:

ironxteachergirl:

theycallme-misssunshine:

pacificnorthwestdoodles:

fyrasha:

pacificnorthwestdoodles:

pacificnorthwestdoodles:

pacificnorthwestdoodles:

My mom cried as a first year teacher when she realized many of her students were food insecure. She put a snack pantry in her class and has had one ever since.

My sister cried with anger as a first year teacher because of how few of her students grew up without being exposed to violence, poverty, and neglect.

My dad didn’t cry as a first year teacher, but was convinced he was the worst teacher ever for 4 years straight. (He wasn’t)

My aunt was exhausted for the first year because her students were convinced she’d only be at their school for one year and then move to a better paying school district like all of their other new teachers. She spent the entire time teaching, actively gaining trust, and calming anxieties.

Some of these things are not technically school related, but have an impact on students in the classroom. As new teachers, my relatives got varying levels of support. New teachers need better support.

3 quit at my old job because they didn’t feel like they were getting the pay or support that was appropriate for what they were doing in the classroom. All of the teachers I have encountered pay for many of their own supplies. Many take time before or after school to check up on students they feel are at risk.

There are teachers that have students live with them or end up fostering students. My mom fostered 2 students and had another 2 live with us.

What many teachers do on the job isn’t as supported as it could be. They aren’t paid like they should.

Did I mention that a lot of the first year teachers I have worked with qualify for SNAP benefits and/or WIC? 😦

This post has 2k notes.

Re: Why Teachers Provide Snacks (at my work)

ALL of the teachers I work with at my school provide snacks to students.

We’re a Title I school. This means almost all of our students are food insecure. It’s unreasonable to expect food insecure families to provide their own snacks to school.

ALL of the teachers and many of our other staff members provide snacks for their classrooms or offices. Our counselor has snacks in her office. Our health room assistant has snacks in her office.  Our principal has snacks in his office. Our vice principal has snacks in her office. The office professionals have small snacks available as well.

Our new teachers usually can’t afford to do this, so veteran teachers and support staff often chip in.

When students DON’T have access to snacks, they get tired. Our students can’t focus. Students get irritable. They’re feeling the effects of hunger and cannot focus on their work. We see escalated behaviors because kids are hungry.

Providing food not only prevents some problems from happening, but it’s The Right Thing To Do.

Many of our students’ Only Guaranteed Meals are at school. School meals are not designed to provide a child’s only source of nutrition.  The caloric value of school lunches isn’t enough.  So—Kids get snacks with lunch.  Kids get multiple ‘breaks’ (which they think are ‘‘regular breaks’‘) for snacks.

Anyone who wants a small snack will get one.

We have a Friday Weekend Bag Program, but many families HATE THOSE.  Those snack bags come from the Thurston County Food Bank. They only contain shelf stable food since many of our families don’t have a reliable way to cook things.  Most of the families decline the bags because the Instant Noodles, Dry Granola Bars, and Vegetable Soup aren’t what they’d eat anyway.

__

A lot of the kids DO want fruit/vegetables. (Downside is if they can’t store those at home).  We have some kids who try to hoard milk. <—a problem since many kids don’t have access to reliable refrigeration at home! Our milk ‘‘collecting’‘ kids ALL don’t have reliable refrigeration since they’re in living situations that don’t have refrigerators or freezers.

We provide snacks for the kids because we need to.

My Personal Project this coming school year is connecting My School with local nonprofit Fairshare Food Share Resource. It’s a group of volunteers who harvest small amounts of fruit and vegetables and give them away.  They’re for smaller home gardeners who aren’t up for sending items directly to our food bank system due to time/health issues/etc.

The Thurston County Food Bank is expanding our school garden this year. I’m hoping that the garden will eventually be a nice Community You Pick for our students and the surrounding neighborhood.

The last big ol’ update had links. I’ll add links to this because food insecurity TICKS ME OFF. It shouldn’t be a thing. We’re fighting food insecurity at my elementary school.

All of my coworkers and all of my now-retired relatives have paid for classroom snacks/pantries With Their Own Money.

Food insecurity is a big issue in the United States.
When our kids aren’t eating enough they are tired, can’t focus, and are irritable. It’s difficult to get work done when you’re feeling the effects of hunger

I’ll post excerpts of some articles below.

Feeding the need: Expanding school lunch programs


 “Schools have always been the front line in the battle against
childhood hunger. It started with the National School Lunch Act, signed
by President Truman in 1946, which gave federal money to states to fund
school lunches.

Today more than 30 million kids benefit. And yet,
by some estimates at least one in six still doesn’t know where the next
meal is coming from.

“School
lunch is no longer this Brady Bunch convenience; it is a soup kitchen,”
said Jennifer Ramo, of the New Mexico anti-poverty group Appleseed.

“It
is a place where kids who haven’t eaten at night or haven’t eaten that
weekend, go to get basic nutrition so they can function. I think
we just have no idea how big the problem is and how many children are
suffering. And the best thing to do is just must make sure they’re fed.”

Growing Hunger in Schools is a Growing Problem (2012)

“What do parents tell their kids on the first day of school – stay
out of trouble, do your homework, and listen to your teachers,” Nelson
said.

“That’s our message today: listen to your teachers. What are they
telling us? Hunger needs to be a national priority.”

One in five children struggle with hunger nationwide and six out of
ten teachers report students regularly coming to school hungry.  According to 80 percent of those teachers, the problem is only getting worse.

Educators realize the toll hunger takes on students. Nine in ten
teachers consider breakfast to be “extremely important” to academic
achievement. Fifty-three percent of teachers spend an average $26 of
their own money each month providing snacks for their students.”

Reading, writing and hunger: More than 13 million kids in this country go to school hungry

“There
is tremendous stigma of children going into a cafeteria before the
bell,” said McAuliffe, “whereas with the alternative breakfast model, it
normalizes it, creates community in the classroom around a meal, and
starts the day off strong.”

Underscoring the crucial impact a
healthy breakfast can have, a 2013 study done by Deloitte for No Kid
Hungry found that kids who have regular access to breakfast score 17.5
percent higher on standardized math tests

.Breakfast and lunch
programs in schools are making great strides in attacking childhood
hunger, but a huge gap remains. According to No Kid Hungry, a quarter of
all low-income parents worry their kids don’t have enough to eat
between school lunch and breakfast the next day; and three out of four
public school teachers say students regularly come to school hungry.

Increasingly, advocates are focusing on programs that ensure kids have
enough to eat when they are not in school, and after school and summer
meal programs are on the rise.”

Yep. My school is poor enough that it has all the kids on free breakfast and lunch, and nearly every teacher has a box of protein bars or fruit snacks or something to give to hungry kids in their classroom. We all buy them with our own money. How fucked are we as a society that this is pretty much normal at all the poorer schools?

A lot of our school funding is through property taxes. Low income areas have lower taxes which means lower funding for their neighborhood schools. It sucks.

Schools in high poverty areas are Title I schools. Almost every school in my district is Title I.

ALL public schools should be properly funded and NO ONE should be food insecure. (my 2 cents)

Further reading for anyone interested:

Why America’s Schools Have A Money Problem  

Is It Time to Stop Funding Schools With Local Property Taxes?

School Funding Inequality Makes Education ‘Separate And Unequal,’ Arne Duncan Says

Schools with greater than 40% of families considered low-income are qualified to apply funding to school-wide programming 

Federal Title I Funding for Students who Struggle with Literacy

Title I: Rich School Districts Get Millions Meant for Poor Kids

Then there’s schools that are literally falling apart:

I work at one of America’s underfunded schools. It’s falling apart

It’s Not Just Freezing Classrooms in Baltimore. America’s Schools Are Physically Falling Apart

Detroit teachers fed up with shoddy school conditions

Leaking sewage, splintering walls: Parents complain Wake County school is falling apart

Without State Support, Michigan’s Schools Will Continue to Crumble

We’re dealing with students and families that are food insecure:

KIDS IN AMERICA ARE HUNGRY

Food for Thought: How Food Insecurity Affects a Child’s Education

Schools becoming the ‘last frontier’ for hungry kids

And guys, you know… It doesn’t have to be like this. Teachers like me who teach in other countries know this and are always so shocked when we read about and see what the US, supposedly a leading and not a developing country, is like in education

I always keep our extra snacks from our programs (usually the ones I did not eat or that other children did not open) just in case. I will never forget the four year old girl my third year in this program who would sneak food or her older siblings in third and fifth grade so they also had something to eat, since they gave so much of their portions to her and her little sister.

I straight up fed a few of my kids…

sirobvious:

thecybersmith:

thecybersmith:

triggerwarned:

sirobvious:

nobodys-favorite-machinist:

sirobvious:

thecybersmith: It would be a good idea to *troll face* carry a medieval longsword around modern-day London.

half of all tumblr, falling all over each other to become famous as tumblr.com’s next top funnyman/clawback-master: No you fucking moron, you idiot, you imbecile! Holy shit! Holy SHIT you guys this fucking guy! This fucking guy thinks it would be good to have a medieval longsword in modern-day London! How can anybody be this dumb! This dumb motherfucker! First of all, the police would arrest you, and they have GUNS! Have you ever heard of a gun? It’s better than a sword because

I choose to believe they antagonize him because he’s Human Pet Guy.

Well the thing is that he’s actually NOT Human Pet Guy. The real Human Pet Guy deleted soon after the original incident, and then the current guy you see now just grabbed the URL and he’s been playing the character ever since

WHAT

OP is FAKE NEWS

http://thecybersmith.tumblr.com/post/153917953417/curse-my-uneven-ears-my-spectacles-are

http://thecybersmith.tumblr.com/archive/2016/12

Look at the link on the post where I made that selfie. It was December the 1st, 2016, (almost two full years ago) LONG before the “human pet” controversy.

NOW, LOOK AT THIS:

http://thecybersmith.tumblr.com/post/180314170102/back-from-tutoring

http://thecybersmith.tumblr.com/archive/2018/11

Which I uploaded only ten days ago, on nov 20, 2018.

I’m the same person. (but I have lost weight)

OP has yet to retract his/her vile lies!

Venom Cybersmith

Scrolling a little way up the notes

(Also, as an aside prompted by some other notes: Cops in the UK do have firearms units. More all the time in London specifically. Especially after the Buckingham Palace thing last year and the apparent number of gang incidents involving machetes, openly carrying a sword on the street might well be enough to get the equivalent of a SWAT team rolling up on you. At least they do get better training, but yeah probably don’t carry any kind of large blade out in the open if you don’t want to meet some.)