grrrke:

haletheheretic:

haletheheretic:

soloveitchik:

haletheheretic:

soloveitchik:

It’s my opinion that like if a white supremacist/Nazi is going to be reformed. They need to do so willingly. The only times I’ve heard of successful rehabilitation of fascists is when they made the conscious decision to no longer be one anymore and seek atonement. People who try to like hug and change fascists that don’t want to change are fucking morons

Correct. I was crypto-facist for a few years, and the people trying to hug me didnt change me because at that point I wouldnt have listened. It was only when I started to see the movement for what it was that I was finally able to listen.

I’m not derailing your addition but I’m horrified you’re only 18. When did you become a fasc?

Yeah trust me it *is* horrifying. I’m ashamed of who I was and I think my only atonement is to talk about how damn easy it is to become one when you’re young.

This is gonna be a long post.

For a little bit of background, I am a mixed race person, half brown and half white. I was raised in a Muslim family and am still closeted around them.

I started to have issues with Islam at around 12 or so, when I first started to get the idea that I might be gay. Now I never would have admitted that was my reason. If you had asked me I probably would have said “logic” or something. Because of that I went hard into atheism and atheist circles.

Now people hate to admit this but ex-Muslim spaces are predominantly right wing. Ex-Muslims often see the left as “too tolerant” towards a religion that hurt them. This was the only community I had though, and I read through everything. I was 13.

The other thing that people hate to admit is that, especially when you’re young, being mixed race is so damn hard. If I acted “too white”, following my mother’s German/Austrian traditions, I was accused of hiding my true nature. But if I acted “too brown” I was just another camel jockey. So I hid my “Indian” customs from others and tried passing as white. Especially online.

So I’m not saying this is all youtube’s fault or anything. I was raised to believe that the brown half of my family was lesser and stupid. And with my hatred of Islam, I believed it doubly.

Then came Anita Sarkeesian. I was watching pewdiepie and from there my recommendations were all set. If I’m remembering the pipeline it was pewdiepie – Philip Defranco – Chris Ray Gun (sp?) – Thunderfoot – Sargon – etc. But I was pretty much acquainted with all of the right wing youtube of the day.

Funnily enough, I found her through Thunderfoot. That got me into antifeminism, and more specifically, GamerGate.

I was primarily on the subreddits KIA (Kotaku In Action) and TIA (Tumblr In Action). Both made fun of the SJWs. I kid you not, I would gleefully wait for “Sanity Sunday”, where the people would talk about how feminism is disgusting, cultural appropriation is fake, the wage gap isnt real, etc. I would scroll through this tag for hours.

I got most of my youtube recommendations from those subreddits. This led me from GamerGate to more fascist lines of thinking, such as watching videos about why BLM is a terrorist organization, why all muslims were evil rapists, and why I was fundamentally right to reject my Indian heritage and follow my “correct” heritage.

From here I delved into “race realism”, and I believed it all. I had to. This was the only community I had felt safe in. One of the fash guys even offered to shack me up at his house if my parents kicked me out for being atheist. I was 15.

To say that again, I was 15 and believed that white was right, blue lives matter, “we wuz kangs”, etc. I never would have called myself a fascist or a Nazi. How could I? I used my brown skin as a token, so that people could point to me and say: “See, we aren’t misogynistic and racist! We have this brown girl right here.” But I believed in all the things the Nazis did. I’m not going to pretend I didn’t. I will never pretend I didn’t.

But then something happened. I admitted to myself, and to a few others, that I was gay. And suddenly, the homophobia that I had molded myself in, it didn’t fit right. I happened to, by accident, click on the reddit thread of GamerGhazi, the opposition to GamerGate. And after a long bout of introspection I found out that they were accepting of gay people, that the things I had been experiencing were common, that maybe, just maybe, we didn’t need a white ethnostate.

I don’t want to be dramatic but that accidental click saved my life.

From there it was a road of recovery. I deleted all my old accounts, made new ones, and started to read leftist theory. I found better friends, cut out old people. So now, just about two years later, I’m healing.

I think that’s everything. I probably got some times and dates wrong because I’ve been trying to move on from it. But if you need more info or anything like that, please let me know.

Reblogging for anyone who’s struggling with being an ex-fascist. Feel free to message me as well, I know how scary it can be.

I found growing up authoritarian, with a too strict set of parents and rules that at least partly have no connection to reality but are enforced by will, having to hide and/or perform or allow performance of is a common factor of people leaning to the right and going to hate groups. Heck, with this you even end up in an authoritarian left leaning group and destroy it from inside by unchecked vicious mockery…

I’ve grown up like this, luckily not religious, but it took me AGES to shake off and many of my similarly afflicted peers did not. They are stuck in what they’ve learned to see as trustworthy, which is top down, snide, demanding and excluding. Arbitrary and rationalized rules, domination both physically and mentally.

Watch out for the signs if you’re afflicted and if you really want to help destroy a Nazi, show them mental freedom, not debate politics and who gets to live. Please don’t be mad at me, but I’ve turned some borderline MRA with this, with having strong opinions on how they were treated as children. Didn’t even need to like them personally.

I’m not absolving people from personal responsibility, but you should know that behind almost every asshole is a child who was taught trauma, pain, shame and learning to suppress harmless urges and emotions is a normal childhood.

bi-boomer:

smitethepatriarchy:

The neo-nazi who drove his car into a crowd of counter-protesters and murdered Heather Heyer was found guilty of first-degree murder and a bunch of other charges and will die in prison, Happy Hanukka.

https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-news/white-supremacist-guilty-murder-charlottesville-car-attack-766505/amp/

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/crime-courts/james-alex-fields-found-guilty-killing-heather-heyer-during-violent-n945186

https://q13fox.com/2018/12/07/james-fields-convicted-in-charlottesville-murder/

saturnineaqua:

booasaur:

scarletdork:

trashywestallen:

glowysweetfab:

booasaur:

Timewasters – 1×01

I need to watch this

What is this and where can I watch it?

^^ Yes, where?!

This is the British series Timewasters, available on ITV if you are in the UK or are able to get a UK IP. I’m afraid I don’t know when it’ll be available to watch in the US.

guys~ i bring gifts!

http://ewatchseries.to/serie/timewasters

smaragdalene:

lady-ymmik:

postmarxed:

tilthat:

TIL that because of a mistranslation Jimmy Carter told the Polish people in 1977 that he desired them carnally and that he had left the United States to never return.

via reddit.com

Imagine being a Polish citizen and you hear the American president say he’s here to fuck and he’s not leaving

This is the funniest shit I’ve ever read and I couldn’t breathe from laughing so hard.

Apparently although he spoke Russian, French, English, and Polish, Polish was the translator’s fourth language. When Carter said “I have come not only to express our own views to the people of Poland but also to learn your opinions and to understand your desires for the future…”, Steven Seymour chose, as primarily a translator of poetry, “… one that is used to describe a man’s desire for a woman.”