this post will be updated as I find more websites to add! please check with the original before reblogging to see if there’s an updated version, and message me with corrections or more suggestions if you have them!!
websites in red have explicitly forbidden the posting of NSFW content.websites in orange allow certain types of NSFW content or have questionable / unclear guidelines.
instagram.com – photo and video posts, excellent tag search
newgrounds.com – an oldie but a goodie, allows a ton of media types
piczel.tv – allows both streaming and posting art / photosets to a gallery
pixiv.net – huge anime art community, allows livestreaming
vero.co – app only, similar to insta but with MUCH more privacy control
chat or forum based
aminoapps.com – community-based, has blogs + chat, custom themes
discordapp.com – great chat app, text + voice, can join infinite servers
reddit.com – literally a community for everything, SO MANY CAT PHOTOS
18+ only
bdsmlr.com – microblogging + social media for people into kink
blogr.xxx – a tumblr clone created specifically for sharing porn
fetlife.com – considered one of the biggest kink communities online
libertine.center – beautiful + modern site for posting irl nsfw and kink stuff
thefetlibrary.com – for posting of erotic stories, replaces bdsmlibrary
paid platforms
patreon.com – subscription-based access to many diff types of content
typepad.com – similar to wordpress but with reblogging and a dash
up-and-coming platforms
pillowfort.io – closed beta. should function almost identically to tumblr but with many many improvements
poizen.me – development alpha. gorgeous website for artists to post art AND track comms
this one’s still early in development but looks incredibly promising as a platform and super pretty to look at!! go snap up a username before all the good ones are taken! favouritism what’s that
qink.co – pre-alpha. 18+ only. plans to be a kink-oriented replacement for tumblr.
defunct platforms
(so people will stop telling me i forgot them)
jux.com – shut down in 2014 due to lack of funds
shoandtell.me – now redirects to someone’s personal blog
soup.io – more or less closed down this year due to GDPR issues
ways to save your current tumblr posts
use the wayback machine! you do have to archive each page of your blog individually but once you do all the content, including media, will be saved exactly as it was at the moment you archived it.
wordpress allows you to directly import whole tumblr blogs, and if i recall correctly it’s something both dreamwidth and pillowfort have said they are working on.
tumblthree is a great tool with a ton of functions including downloading whole blogs, only posts tagged with a certain tag, all the posts you’ve liked, etc. etc. along with being able to download every type of media hosted on tumblr (pictures, videos, audio, everything). it also has a proper GUI so no computer knowledge required beyond downloading and running programs!
if you have some knowledge of computers you can try this github solution which uses a python script to download your whole blog to your computer. even if you don’t know anything about programming or the command line they give a very good beginners tutorial on how to use it so you should still give it a shot!
if that’s still a little daunting you can try soarcodes’ tumblr post that also has a decent tutorial!
here’s another python script that should allow you to archive all the images from your blog or your likes, though it requires some knowledge of python and the command line or very very good google skills.
some notes
edit: please stop commenting on this post to self-promote your porn accounts on other sites. those replies / reblogs will be deleted or hidden.
please note that every site on this list will have pros and cons, and i haven’t listed them here since this post would be a mile long otherwise. please do your research before moving completely over to another site in case they have policies you disagree with.
also, because I see a lot of misinformed people ranting about this: deviantart does not own the art you post. some years ago hot topic stole a ton of art from DA and sold it on merchandise and people assumed that DA gave them permission to do it despite there being literally zero evidence for that claim. DA explictly states in their TOS that you retain copyright and sole license of the art you post.
and related, mastodon does not allow or condone CP or pedophilia. the people spreading this info are misinformed about what mastodon is. it is not an exact twitter clone; anyone anywhere can host a mastodon instance using their personal computer as a server, which means mastodon as a company can’t do jack shit to moderate them. what they DO is permanently block all users from every other instance from viewing or interacting with that instance, and add that instance to a publicly viewable list along with the reason for the block. please give their post about anti-abuse measures a read before making snap judgements.
While we’re all having a good laugh and/or panic at tumblr’s incompetent censorship implosion, I just want to take this opportunity to draw a parallel to a lot of the recent fandom wank about what content should or shouldn’t be allowed on AO3. Specifically: there’s a lot of people who want the Archive to ban particular types of fic, but who have no real understanding of how you would actually implement that in practice.
While there are legitimate arguments to be made about the unwisdom of tumblr’s soon-to-be-forbidden content choices – the whole “female-presenting nipples” thing and the apparent decision to prioritise banning tits over banning Nazis, for instance – the functional problem isn’t that they’ve decided to monitor specific types of content, but that they’ve got no sensible way of enacting their own policies. Quite clearly, you can’t entrust the process to bots: just today, I’ve seen flagged content that runs the gamut from Star Trek: TOS screenshots to paleo fish art to quilts to the entire chronic pain tag to a text post about a gay family member with AIDS – and at the same time, I’ve still been seeing porn gifs on my dash.
It’s absolute chaos, which is what happens when you try to outsource to programs the type of work that can only reliably be done by people – and even then, there’s still going to be bad or dubious or unpopular decisions made, because invariably, some things will need to be judged on a case by case basis, and people don’t always agree on where the needle should fall.
Now: consider that this is happening because tumblr is banning particular types of images. Images, at least, you can kiiiiinda moderate by bots, provided you’re using the bot-process as a filter to cut down on the amount of work done by actual humans, and also provided you’re willing to take a huge credibility hit given the poor initial accuracy of said bots, but: images. Bots can be sorta trained to recognise and sort those, right?
But the kind of AI sophistication you’d need to moderate all the content on a text-based site like AO3? That… yeah. That literally doesn’t exist, and going by tags and keywords wouldn’t help you either, because there’d be no handy way to distinguish what type of usage was present just on that basis alone. Posts about content generated by neural nets are hilarious precisely because our AI isn’t there yet, and based on what we’ve seen so far, we won’t be there for a good long while.
It’s a point I’ve made again and again, but I’m going to reiterate it here: it’s always easy to conjure up the most obvious, extreme and clear-cut examples of undesirable content when you’re discussing bans in theory, but in practice, you need to have a feasible means of enacting those rules with some degree of accuracy, speed and accountability that’s attainable within both budget and context, or else the whole thing becomes pointless.
On massive sites like AO3 and tumblr, the considerable expense of monitoring so much user-generated content with paid employees is, to a degree, obviated by the concept of tagging and blocking, the idea being that users can curate and control their own experience to avoid unpleasant material. There still needs to be oversight, of course – at absolute minimum, a code of conduct and a means of reporting those who violate it to a human authority in a position to enforce said code – but the thing is, given how much raw content accrues on social media and at what speed, you really need these policies to be in place, and actively enforced, from the get-go: otherwise, when you finally do start trying to moderate, you’ll have to wade through the entire site’s backlog while also trying to keep abreast of new content.
Facebook, which is a multi-billion dollar corporation, can afford to have paid human moderators in place for assessing content violations instead of relying on bots; however, it is also notoriously terrible at both following its own standards and setting them in the first place. To take an example salient to the tumblr mess, Facebook has an ongoing problem with how it handles breastfeeding posts, while its community standards regarding what counts as hate speech are, uhhh… NotGreat. Twitter has similarly struggled with bot accounts proliferating during multiple recent elections and with the seemingly simple task of deplatforming Nazis – not because they can’t, but because they don’t want to take a quote-on-quote political stance, even for the sake of cleaning house.
It’s also because, quite frankly, neither Facebook nor Twitter were originally thought of as entities that would one day be ubiquitous and powerful enough to be used to sway elections; and when that capability was first realised by those with enough money and power to take advantage of it, there were no internal safeguards to stop it happening, and not nearly enough external comprehension of or appreciation for the risks among those in positions of authority to impose some in time to make a difference. Because even though time spent scrolling through social media passes like reverse dog years – which is to say, two hours can frequently feel like ten minutes – its impact is such that we fall into the trap of thinking that it’s been around forever, instead of being a really recent phenomenon. Facebook launched in 2004, YouTube in 2005, Twitter in 2006, tumblr in 2007, AO3 in 2009, Instagram in 2010, Snapchat in 2011, tinder in 2012, Discord in 2015. Even Livejournal, that precursor blog-and-fandom space, only began in 1999, with the purge of strikethrough happening in 2007. Long-term, we’re still running a global beta on How To Do Social Media Without Fucking Up, because this whole internet thing is still producing new iterations of old problems that we’ve never had to deal with in this medium before – or if so, then not on this scale, within whatever specific parameters apply to each site, in conjunction with whatever else is happening that’s relevant, with whatever tools or budget we have to hand. It is messy, and I really don’t see that changing anytime soon.
All of which is a way of saying that, while it’s far from impossible to moderate content on social media, you need to have actual humans doing it, a clear reporting process set up, a coherent set of rules, a willingness to enforce those rules consistently – or at least to explain the logic behind any changes or exceptions and then stand by them, too – and the humility to admit that, whatever you planned for your site to be at the outset, success will mean that it invariably grows beyond that mandate in potentially strange and unpredictable ways, which will in turn require active thought and anticipation on your part to successfully deal with.
Which is why, compared to what’s happening on other sites, the objections being raised about AO3 are so goddamn frustrating – because, right from the outset, it has had a clear set of rules: it’s just not one that various naysayers like. Content-wise, the whole idea of the tagging system, as stated in the user agreement, is that you enter at your own risk: you are meant to navigate your own experience using the tools the site has provided – tools it has constantly worked to upgrade as the site traffic has boomed exponentially – and there’s a reporting process in place for people who transgress otherwise. AO3 isn’t perfect – of course it isn’t – but it is coherent, which is exactly what tumblr, in enacting this weird nipple-purge, has failed to be.
Plus and also: the content on AO3 is fictional. As passionate as I am about the impact of stories on reality and vice versa, this is nonetheless a salient distinction to point out when discussing how to manage AO3 versus something like Twitter or tumblr. Different types of content require different types of moderation: the more variety in media formats and subject matter and the higher the level of complex, real-time, user-user interaction, the harder it is to manage – and, quite arguably, the more managing it requires in the first place. Whereas tumblr has reblogs, open inboxes and instant messaging, interactions on AO3 are limited to comments and that’s it: users can lock, moderate or throw their own comment threads open as they choose, and that, in turn, cuts down on how much active moderation is necessary.
tl;dr: moderating social media sites is actually a lot harder and more complicated than most people realise, and those lobbying for tighter content control in places like AO3 should look at how broad generalisations about what constitutes a Bad Post are backfiring now before claiming the whole thing is an easy fix.
Most of this rings true, but as a software dev with an (nonexpert) interest in AI, the idea that bots can recognise and categorise images easier than text is pretty much the opposite of anything I’ve ever read on the subject, unless things have changed drastically recently.
Sure, bots are shit at understanding text. They’re just shitter at understanding images.
Text: can probably work if ‘balls’ is nsfw from context, might struggle to work out erotica vs sex ed.
Images: *picture of round earring* is this a nipple??
The problem here is that people’s complaints about AO3 weren’t about “NSFW content.” If it were just “does it mention a dick?” that would be a much simpler problem.
They were saying AO3 should ban, say, portrayals of rape, or of underage sex – but many of those people will then agree that they’re only talking about certain portrayals of these things.
Can a bot figure out whether a story is portraying a rape in a positive or negative light? PEOPLE can’t even agree on that. Can a bot identify the exact ages of all participants in a sexual scene, even if those ages aren’t mentioned anywhere because anyone familiar with that particular canon would know them? Hell, can a bot even figure out if a sex scene is consensual?? Many humans can’t even fucking figure that out in real life. And then there are fics containing rape play, where people consent to have what looks like non-consensual sex.
Foz has posted before about how difficult-to-impossible it would be for humans to consistently apply the standards people push for, even if everyone could agree on those standards. These definitely aren’t the kinds of judgments current AI is capable of making.
I want to reblog this excellent addition, because it’s essentially what I put in my tags as well.
One of the things that’s so complicated about this conversation—and something both porcupine-girl and fozmeadows are hitting really well—is that for a lot of AO3 detractors, it’s not that people are writing stories about rape, incest, etc, but how they’re writing about them. Not “how dare you write an underage scene,” but rather “how dare you fetishize/romanticize/wank off to underage sex in your writing?” Forget about a bot figuring out if sex is consensual; what if it’s definitely not? Trying to find a line between merely depicting and romanticizing…is literally impossible, because all humans have had different experiences, will read and see things different ways. For that matter, I could write something meant to be horrifying and in no way sexy, and someone could still find it sexy. They could find the fact that my character finds it upsetting sexy, too! You can’t control the way someone reads your work, no matter how hard you try; you can’t control thought.
The big social media platforms are currently grappling with moderation at scale. Facebook is utterly incompetent, on both the automated side and the human side. YouTube has long been a shitshow on this front. Things are…clearly not going well at Tumblr! All of these efforts are inherently going to barrel right over context. Tumblr’s “is it nipple art tho” question is a great example, as is the blurring of any distinctions between erotica and porn.
AO3′s tagging system—which isn’t flawless, and relies on mutual trust across thousands and thousands of people—actually sort of deliberately removes context, on a platform level. If I tag something “noncon,” of course I can add more tags like, “but sexy tho” or “NOT SEXY THO JUST UPSETTING,” but generally, I’m trying to let people know that my story contains nonconsensual sex. That’s either a big backspace for people who don’t want to read that, regardless of context, or a flag for people who then step in and determine the context for themselves. And that interpretation, of course, will vary from reader to reader. But it shifts that decision from the platform to the reader—something that’s not going to work on a big social media platform, at least not in any way that I can envision. Certainly not on a site with traditional commercial pressures.
u dont understand how disappointed i am that this dog didnt appear on my dash this year and how hard i tried to find a post that included both pictures
Clouds of smoke billow out of the city’s factories and float through neighborhoods where children run and play in the dusty streets. Soot rising from smokestacks mixes with exhaust from traffic-clogged avenues and columns of smoke swirling from blazing heaps of trash.
When acrid fumes and particles fill the air, the pollution stings the nasal passages, grates in the throat and leaves people coughing and wheezing.
The air along this stretch of the border is so polluted it’s killing people. The tiny airborne particles ravage human lungs, triggering asthma and other chronic diseases. Children as young as 6 have been among the victims. The air leaves countless other people coping with illnesses throughout their lives.
The poisoned air drifts across the border into the United States and California’s Imperial Valley, entering the smaller city of Calexico. The pollution here regularly violates U.S. air-quality standards, and children in Imperial County are taken to emergency rooms for asthma at one of the highest rates in the state.
The air pollution that plagues the Mexicali area isn’t just some of the worst in Mexico. It’s also some of the worst particulate pollution measured anywhere in the Americas.
The toll in lives lost is ghastly. Mexican health records show at least 78 people died of asthma and 903 people died of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in the Mexicali area between 2010 and 2016. Officials in the state of Baja California have estimated that pollution causes about 300 premature deaths annually in Mexicali.
You must be logged in to post a comment.