brutalpetunia:

myblogisnotinteresting:

brutalpetunia:

“Why are there so many sick/disabled people on Tumblr?”

Maybe because we can’t get out of bed and need to laugh at bad memes to keep our minds off of the fact that we’re dying a little faster than the rest of you able-bodied little shits, Susan.

I left Tumblr for 4 or 5 years. I had kinda adulted out of it. Then I ended up with 24/7 pain and couldn’t work. I was so bored and had difficulty concentrating so I returned to this hellsite and it’s chronically correct, endless scrolling dash and it’s been a great distraction and a great place to vent. So many spaces for people with my condition are all disease all the time but here I get smattering of disease interspersed with memes and interesting social issues. It’s allows me to both feel like I’m accepting my condition while not feeling swallowed by it.

I love this. That’s also how I feel. I needed someplace that wasn’t 100% serious all the time. I tend to stay out of The Discourse ™, so it’s kind of a relief to log in here as opposed to other disability/chronic illness communities.

justsomeantifas:

coldbrood:

justsomeantifas:

kirinandvlindertje:

justsomeantifas:

when will i stop thinking i’m funny tho?

source 

Okay, a quick and rough calculation I’d say that this person bought about 2000 kcal worth of food, aka about enough for 1 day. For that same $11 I can probably buy a medium bag of rice, a dozen eggs, and some frozen vegetables, allowing me to make over a week worths of food, that is more nutritionally balanced than this.

but that doesn’t fit the glamorous aesthetic of a healthy lifestyle. whatever will you do???

what @kirinandvlindertje listed is more healthy than all fruit though

exactly, but it’s not considered healthy under the shallow aesthetics of the health movement in our current sociopolitical climate. 

because again the health movement today is just that: pretty visuals with little practical use

cripples-r-us-swag:

caitcosplays:

charliellama:

“Why are there so many sick/disabled people on Tumblr?”

Maybe because we can’t get out of bed and need to laugh at bad memes to keep our minds off of the fact that we’re dying a little faster than the rest of you able-bodied little shits, Susan.

Maybe because, under the protection of semi-anonymity (our urls are attached yes, but not our real names and identities), people are more willing to share their issues that in public would be considered shameful and embarrassing. 🙄

I was 25 the first time I met someone with RA. 25 whole long ass years without ever knowing anyone else ever suffered like I do.

It really fucks with your mental health feeling like you are the only one in pain like that. I cried big ugly tears when the other woman I met described something so simple as going to her rheumatologist or taking mtx.

Plus! when I’ve been prescribed a new med, its helpful to search around online and see what other people’s experiences have been.