catbountry:

beatle-capaldi:

zagreus:

zagreus:

8abbott-of-odd0:

yeah-yeah-beebiss-1:

ryanccole:

mousathe14:

glass-garden:

glass-garden:

JIM HENSON USED THE KERMIT THE FROG PROTOTYPE TO MAKE ADS IN THE 1950′S-60′S?? THEY’RE ALL CURSED AND IM AFRAID TO WATCH THEM . GOD HELP ME

Uhmmmm….

@wackd

honestly you really need to see these things in motion because they’re buck wild

(also i’m gonna be That Guy and point out that wilkins wasn’t a prototype kermit as kermit already existed, although he was Kermit the Fucked Up Lizard Thing rather than Kermit the Frog at that point in time)

There is absolutely no attempt at seduction in these advertisements. We are given no reason to think this coffee is actually any good. The only motivation we are given to drink this coffee is fear.

THERE ARE MORE AND THEY GET WILDER

THERE ARE EVEN MORE AND THEY GET SO FUCKING THREATENING I AM GENUINELY STARTING TO FEAR FOR MY LIFE

@frogyell

DRINK WILKINS INSTANT COFFEE… OR DIE.

Mansplaining protip:

kestrel-tree:

When a man starts
explaining a concept you already told him you understand,
instead of saying “I know” over and over until you die, try one of these:

  • Ok, which aspect is confusing you?
  • It seems like
    you have the basics down; Would you like me to recommend some good articles so you can get a more nuanced understanding?
  • So did
    you have a specific question, or do you just want a more in depth
    explanation?

Lately mobile video uploads have seemed to be working better. So, of course that couldn’t last 😒

It’s decided to choke again on one that runs a whopping 40 seconds. May just have to put it on YouTube again.

Honestly, I have been running into a lot of trouble with feeling like my life is essentially over for a while now.

Not all depression, but yeah some of it is. I know it’s totally situational, and I have no idea what to do about any of it. Other than just keep getting on with things the best I can. That can get hard, though, especially knowing that stubborn will only get a person so far. And it gets exhausting.

I really hesitate to say anything about this stuff. Especially after I had to block someone I thought better of over persistently making some condescending unwelcome assumptions and suggestions “for my own good” based on what they they decided my Real Problems must be. Regardless of what I thought about any of it. I got enough of that from actual professionals when I was younger, and it almost killed me when I was already dealing with enough shit from some very different (ignored) causes without the added gaslighting. I’m still working through some of the aftermath this many years later. So yeah, don’t do that. No matter how good the person thinks their intentions are, that behavior sucks and can do a lot of harm.

I am not looking for advice at all, to be very clear. Just venting, and trying to work through some thoughts by articulating them more. (However vaguely here.) It can make a bad situation so much harder when you don’t have anywhere to safely talk about certain things at all.

More weirdness from HSBC today.

I had to request a replacement credit card, because mine expired in November and I never found the new one in the mail. (Which has happened multiple times before, across accounts.) With the timing, I almost had to wonder if that triggered the other BS, but that wouldn’t make much sense that I can tell. Banks in general often don’t, however.

Anyway, at least the replacement did show up this time, and pretty quickly.

The weird part: the new card is only valid for a year 🤔

I’ve had that card account with them since 2004. (Well, they switched it from Mastercard to Visa like 2 cards ago.) And IIRC, they’ve always been good for at least 3 years. The last one was, looking. Definitely never just one year before.

I mean, that’s nothing to really worry about right now, since I do have what should be a working card after it’s activated. But, it still doesn’t seem right. Like they’re just not planning to have me as a UK customer for much longer.

It’s honestly hard to tell these days if/when I might be overthinking stuff and feeling paranoid for no good reason. But, that’s kinda what a “hostile environment” tends to do. Which makes it even more frustrating in a way, because jfc it sure is working. And I’m not even one of the main targets.