Unlearning How White People Ask Personal Questions

jhameia:

beautytruthandstrangeness:

casual-isms:

http://www.samefacts.com/2014/05/culture-and-civil-society/unlearning-how-white-people-ask-personal-questions/

Holy shit. I have ALWAYS thought the people around me were being unconscionably intrusive and power-playing in their starter conversations and they told me I was antisocial and oblivious to culture norms. Turns out, maybe I’m just from a different culture.

middle-class culture IS unconscionably intrusive and power-playing tho so you’re not wrong 

friendlytroll:

biggest-gaudiest-patronuses:

pervocracy:

Fun statistical fact: Cows are about 300 times more likely to kill you than coyotes.

Minor sidenote to statistical fact: If it was common for people to keep several hundred coyotes on their property and routinely chase them into a corral and handle them, this statistic would be different.

this is a great summary of ‘conditional probability’, a statistical property many people grapple with 

…I feel like this post just made me realize that both coconut trees and vending machines, items often quoted in wacky death statistics, are both things that people shake vigorously often

//www.instagram.com/embed.js

catsbook:

🚩 Follow @catsbook 😻
🚩 Video by: @mochithescottishfold 📷
❤ #catsbook ❤ to be featured.
.
.
.
.
.
#catsfollowers #neko #猫 #catsofig #cats_of_instagram #고양이 #cutecats #caturday #catlady #purr #gato #ねこ部 #catsagram #ネコ #catsofworld #crazycatlady #kittensofinstagram #catnap #kitties #catlovers #ねこ #katze #냥스타그램 #gatto #katt #kedi #kitten #cute #gatos

in-trans-it:

Hi loves!

Thank you so much to everyone who has donated to my Go Fund Me or PayPal! I’m almost halfway to my goal. I had surgery on Dec 27th during which they placed bone grafts on the end of my right femur. I’ll be off work until roughly February. The money I’m raising is for my living expenses during that time, my medical bills including prescriptions, and anything left over goes to my savings account where I am saving to replace my broken-down wheelchair with a rigid chair, most likely a Quickie 5R. 

Feel free to shoot me a message with any questions you may have about my medical situation and whatnot, and please help spread my donation links.

www.gofundme.com/calebssurvival

www.paypal.me/calebcinaed